• Romblon Sun

NBA Teams Down To 22 As Season Reopens Late July

Only 22 surviving teams will play late next month at the resumption of the NBA 2019-20 season that has been stalled by the Covid-19 pandemic. This was approved by the league’s Board of Governors just recently as it announced that all the games will be played at the Disney campus near Orlando, Florida.

If things go according to plan a new NBA champion will be crowned in October.

The 22-team plan includes all the teams that were holding playoff spots when the games were stopped last March due to the pandemic.

Milwaukee, the Los Angeles Lakers, Boston and reigning NBA champion, the Toronto Raptors, are already assured of playoff spots, while eight other teams – Miami, Indiana, Philadelphia, the Los Angeles Clippers, Denver, Utah, Oklahoma City, and Houston – and possibly Dallas have virtually secured a playoff berth as well.

This means, Brooklyn, Orlando and Washington in the East, and, Memphis, Portland, New Orleans, Sacramento, San Antonio, Phoenix in the West, will be fighting it out for the three remaining spots.

It also means the season is over for Atlanta, Cleveland, New York, Golden State, Minnesota, Detroit, Chicago, and Charlotte.

Vince Carter, who played in 22 seasons, the longest in NBA history, has played his last game as his team, the Atlanta Hawks, failed to make the cut. Carter has announced he is retiring after the current season.

The teams are scheduled to arrive at the Disney Complex around second week of July. Once they arrive, practice sessions and scrimmages will be allowed in preparation for the next season.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

© 2020 Romblon Sun Online. All rights reserved.